University of Leicester – GSC

University Details

Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland University College was the name of the university when it was first founded in 1921. Thomas Fielding Johnson a local businessman donated the site for the University to create a living memorial of all local people who had made sacrifices during the First World War. This is expressed in the motto ‘Ut Vitam Habeant’ – ‘So that they may have life”.

In 1921 the college first admitted their students and were awarded external degrees by the University of London. The establishment became Leicester University College in 1972; 30 years later the college obtained its Royal Charter which enabled the university the right to award its own degrees. In 1963, the University won the first ever series of University Challenge.

Established: 1921


University Rd, Leicester LE1 7RH


Foundation Pathway:

All the below courses are available through the foundation campus (GSC) of University of Leicester.

Chemistry with Foundation Year BSc

Engineering with Foundation Year Beng

Physics with Foundation Year BSc

Computer Science with Foundation Year BSc

Biological Sciences with Foundation Year BSc

Natural Sciences (Life and Physical Sciences) with Foundation Year BSc



Semester – 1: September

Semester – 2: January